Halloween is on Thursday! I must say, I am excited for the festivities this year (as I am every year). Thinking back, my favorite costume as a child was when I dressed up as a cheerleader. I had the cutest pink, white, and silver costume with silver and pink pom poms to match! I kept that costume for year because I loved it so much! As a child, I participated in pumpkin carving as well. I did not enjoy the process but I liked the ending product.

The pumpkin carving process has gotten easier with templates. I am currently working on one now! I noticed a lot of my neighbors with “Georgia Southern” carved in some of their pumpkins. The university providing these templates is a great idea to allow the community to show their support for the school. Also, those templates could be sent to parents who may not live in the area and they can show their support as well.

I have never seen anyone with a “Sprite”, “Oreo”, or “McDonalds” carved pumpkin. Other businesses providing templates for their company would be a big flop. It would take away from the true meaning of Halloween. It is a big difference for universities to provide such templates than for a company to do the same. I do not see that plan being effective at all. I think we should just stick to the basics!